2021 Primary Care Physician Scholarship Recipients

Sept. 29, 2021

The University of Arizona Health Sciences welcomed 23 new future primary care physicians into its Primary Care Physician Scholarship Program for the 2021-22 academic year. This year’s class includes 12 at the UArizona College of Medicine – Phoenix and 11 at the College of Medicine – Tucson. Earlier this year, the program expanded its eligibility to students specializing in general surgery. The program currently has 82 students, while 15 scholarship recipients have completed their medical degrees and are currently in residency programs. 

Now in its third year, the Primary Care Physician Scholarship Program was developed in partnership with and funded by a portion of $8 million approved by the Arizona Legislature and Gov. Doug Ducey in 2019. The scholarships, awarded annually, cover tuition for each recipient and are available to incoming and current students at the Colleges of Medicine in Tucson and Phoenix. They allow medical students to pursue careers in the traditionally lower-paying primary care practice areas without worrying about how they will repay their medical school debt. Each scholarship recipient agrees to practice medicine in a federally designated underserved community in Arizona for at least two years and up to four years after graduation and residency training.