CAMI Advisory Council

Center for Advanced Molecular and Immunological Therapies 
Advisory Council

The CAMI Advisory Council unites 20+ distinguished leaders from across Arizona in a nexus of science, government and private industry. By combining expertise both within and beyond medical sciences, we ensure that our solutions become real-world successes, improving health outcomes for Arizonans and advancing medicine around the world.

Leadership and Organization

Deepta Bhattacharya, PhD
Professor, Department of Immunobiology, College of Medicine – Tucson, BIO5 Institute member

Richard Carmona, MD, MPH, FACS
Distinguished Laureate Professor, Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health

Kate Gallego, MBA
Mayor, City of Phoenix

Eric Reiman, MD
Executive Director, Banner Alzheimer’s Institute; Director, Arizona Alzheimer’s Consortium; CEO, Banner Research; Clinical Director of the Neurogenomics Division, Translational Genomics Research Institute, BIO5 Institute member

Rachna Shroff, MD, MS
Professor, Department of Medicine, Chief, Division of GI Medical Oncology, College of Medicine – Tucson; Director, Arizona Clinical Trials Network, UArizona Cancer Center; BIO5 Institute member

Brad Vynalek, JD
Partner and Firm President, Quarles & Brady

Program and Development

Cara Christ, MD, MS
Chief Medical Officer, Arizona Blue Cross Blue Shield

Karen Taraszka Hastings, MD, PhD, FAAD
Professor, Department of Basic Medical Sciences, Co-Director, MD/PhD program, College of Medicine – Phoenix

Emmanuel Katsanis, MD
Professor, Department of Pediatrics, College of Medicine – Tucson; UArizona Cancer Center member; Steele Children’s Research Center member; BIO5 Institute member

Michael Kuhns, PhD
Professor, Department of Immunobiology, College of Medicine – Tucson; BIO5 Institute member

Mike Lee, BS
Founding Partner, Redmile Group, LLC

Timothy Marlowe, PhD
Assistant Research Professor, Department of Internal Medicine, Director, Molecular Discovery Core, College of Medicine – Phoenix

George Poste, DVM, PhD, DSc, FRC Path, F Med Sci, CBE, FRS
Regents Professor and Del E. Webb Chair in Health Innovation, Arizona State University; Chief Scientist, Complex Adaptive Systems

Nathaniel Soper, MD, FACS, MAMES
Chair, Department of Surgery, College of Medicine – Phoenix; Physician Executive Director, General Surgery Service Line, Banner – University Medical Center Phoenix

Frederic Zenhausern, PhD, MBA
Endowed Chair Professor and Interim co-chair of the Department of Basic Medical Sciences at the College of Medicine – Phoenix; BIO5 Institute member

Space, Design and Construction

Christopher Glembotski, PhD,
Professor, Department of Internal Medicine, Associate Dean of Research, College of Medicine – Phoenix; Director, Translational Cardiovascular Research Center; BIO5 Institute member

Ken Knox, MD
Professor, Department of Internal Medicine, Associate Dean of Faculty Affairs-Development, Research Director, Lung Institute, College of Medicine – Phoenix

Janko Nikolich, MD, PhD
Head and Professor, Department of Immunobiology, College of Medicine – Tucson; Co-Director Arizona Center on Aging; Director, Aegis Consortium; BIO5 Institute member

Jim Rounds, MS
President, Rounds Consulting Group Inc.

Jason A. Wertheim, MD, PhD
Vice Dean of Research and Graduate Studies, Professor, Department of Surgery, College of Medicine – Tucson

Michael Worobey, PhD
Head and Professor, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, College of Science; BIO5 Institute member