Close Menu

Dr. Alvarez Receives Gloria Niemeyer Francke Leadership Mentor Award

  • April 8, 2020

Nancy A. Alvarez, PharmD, BCPS, has received the Gloria Niemeyer Francke Leadership Mentor Award from the American Pharmacists Association (APhA). This award recognizes individuals who have promoted and encouraged pharmacists to attain leadership positions through example, acting as role models and mentors.

Nancy A. Alvarez, PharmD, has been recognized as an outstanding role model and mentor to other pharmacists.Dr. Alvarez is the associate dean of academic and professional affairs for the University of Arizona College of Pharmacy at the Phoenix Biomedical campus. She is also an associate professor of pharmacy practice and science. Dr. Alvarez belongs to the APhA, served as its 162nd president and was named a fellow for the organization. Her teaching interests are in pain management, palliative care and leader development.

“I have had a plethora of people around me serving as inspirational examples, engaging my desire to grow, helping me to be my best and accepting who I am being — curious, courageous and flawed,” Dr. Alvarez said. "My ever-evolving sense of worth as a pharmacist, a leader, and a human being so I may help others discover and grow is acknowledged with this Gloria Niemeyer Franke recognition. I am humbled and feel deep gratitude to my nominators, including Ted Tong and former students with whom I have served APhA.”

The APhA awards and honors program is the most comprehensive recognition program in the profession of pharmacy. Dr. Alvarez was slated to be officially recognized at the APhA Annual Meeting and Exposition in National Harbor, Md., in late March, but the conference was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. A virtual program is being planned.