College of Nursing Leadership Announcement

May 31, 2022

I am writing to announce an upcoming transition in leadership at the University of Arizona College of Nursing. On June 1, Ki Moore, PhD, RN, FAAN, will step down from her role as dean of the college. Following a six-month sabbatical, I am delighted to report that she will return to her faculty position as the Anne Furrow Endowed Professor.

Dean Moore is a gifted leader who has made significant contributions to the College of Nursing during her 34-year tenure. Appointed as dean in June 2019, she expertly guided the college through the many challenges the college faced during the COVID pandemic, including a nationwide shortage of nurses.

Dean Moore worked tirelessly to strengthen the college’s legacy of producing practice-ready graduates while expanding specialty opportunities and growing the college’s outstanding educational and research programs. During her time as dean, the college received its highest ever national ranking of No. 23 on the U.S. News & World Report Best Bachelor of Science in Nursing list. Additionally, she created the college’s first Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Task Force to improve individual and systemic inequities and advance inclusive excellence.

I am grateful to Dean Moore for her exceptional leadership, and I look forward to her future achievements at the College of Nursing. I have no doubt that her three decades of research experience, her skills as an educator and her expertise in promoting professional development opportunities will continue to advance the stature and distinction of the college she has served so well.

Kathleen Insel, PhD, RN, professor and chair of the College of Nursing’s Behavioral Health Science Division, has agreed to serve as interim dean while a national search for a new dean is conducted. Dr. Insel is an accomplished nurse-scientist and educator whose collaborative leadership style has advanced the mission of the College of Nursing, and I am confident the college will continue to thrive under her guidance during this time of transition.

Please join me in thanking Dean Moore for her leadership and continued service to our community.

Michael D. Dake, MD
Senior Vice President
University of Arizona Health Sciences